“Vices” a solo show from Chris Harsch

Uncategorized

Date to be determined due to Covid-19

What are vices? How do we define them? Vices are wrapped all around our life and they rear their faces in all sorts of different ways, sometimes unknowingly and sometimes blatantly for the whole world to see. The purpose of this show is not to define what vices are or how you should feel about these certain ideas that might parallel to your own. It is simply a perspective on us, the subject of an idea, and the way we might project these themes externally. 

A recent job I was working at required me to greet guests as they first walked into our business. A regular was making his way to the exit so I yelled over to him, “leaving so soon?” he replied, while clutching a cigarette “nah, just going outside to feed my vices”. I thought that was such an interesting thing to say. Knowingly and consciously while in humor accepting something for what it is. It was so interesting to me, I think in a lot of ways we like our vices. They give us strength and security we may believe we couldn’t do without.

Stories of the South : A Photographic Exhibition

Uncategorized

Featured Artist and Websites

Phillip Abbott – https://phillipabbott.com/

Brennan Booker – https://www.brennan-booker.com/

Abbey Bratcher – http://www.abbeybratcher.com/

Jemma Castiglione – https://www.jemmacastiglione.com/

Ashley Gates – http://ashleygates.org/

Sarah Haig – http://www.sarahhaig.com/

Jessica Just – https://justajessica.weebly.com/

Cocoa Laney – http://cocoalaney.com/

Lara Morgan – https://www.lmorganphoto.com/

Joe Nolan – http://www.joenolan.com/

Shannon Randol – https://www.shannonrandol.com/

Sarah Smith – http://www.sarahpsmith.com/

Sean Thomas – https://seanthomas.format.com/

Andrew Turner – https://www.turnerphoto.org/

Jordan Whitten – http://www.jordanwhitten.com/


Founder Janet Yanez, in upcoming group show at Gallery Bang Bang!

Uncategorized

Show: Dinner’s Ready

Location: Gallery Bang Bang

RSVP: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/dinners-ready-tickets-72939135919

Dinner’s ready explores the traditionally feminine territory of the Dining Table. Displayed in the nontraditional exhibition space of a House Gallery, where blank walls feel more domestic among a working home, 5 female artist explore the role of the Dining Table in their own lives.

New Artist + GfG Updates

Uncategorized

Happy Fall! September was a great (but fast) month for us at GfG! We had an amazing show by Grace Claypool which featured her wood crafted sculptures. Thank you all for a great turnout to support Grace’s first show!

As we head into October we are happy to introduce two of our new artist joining us in the studio space, Jenna Kosowski and Sandra King! Sandra King is a grad of the Art Institute of Chicago and after some time away from the paint brush is jumping back into her practice here at GfG. Jenna Kosowski is a painter and dancer from the North East who is now residing here in Nashville. You can head over to her website to check out her work http://www.jennakosowski.com/ !

As we head into December we will be having an Open Studio and Gallery Show featuring all of our in house artist! Be sure to check that out December 7th from 4-7PM!

“Interrelate” by Grace Claypool Opens September 7th

Uncategorized

Join us for the exhibition, Interrelate, and artist’s reception for Grace Claypool Saturday, September 7th from 6-8pm.

Artist statement:

Women as a collective have an solid pack mentality that is possible because each individual is a multifaceted being.

These works are about women supporting each other. 

These sculptures are not objectifying, but are representing the feminine experience: the ebbing and flowing, the protective and protected. These pieces aim to unravel the idea of femininity and show a side of primal self preservation. 

This body of work is not about oppression but about support and the mutual relationship of women with each other.

Bio:

Grace Claypool is a Nashville based artist with a studio practice focused on sculpture and drawing. She is currently completing her BFA in studio art at Lipscomb University with BFA expected in 2019. She is also the co-curator of Open Gallery.